theswordsman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rory Rory Rory

It was a privilege to watch Rory McIlroy play golf today. It was like watching someone become The Next Big Thing. The eighteenth hole was a mess for his whole threesome (it's boring when it's all guys), but if he continues to play well over the weekend, it will be massive, and help people forget the last day of The Masters.

I've been getting twitter followers again since I'm tracking the soccer player thing and linking to Lance articles. I don't really want followers right now, at least not pro cycling fans. The Irish cycling journo I used to be pals with used his pseudonym to dredge up some nonsense about Contador from last October. In the past, I've locked up my account and gently removed him, but today I locked up and blocked him. It's cumbersome, because people had been retweeting some of my links, and now they can't easily, and I've been getting follow requests from people I had no idea were looking at my account. Really I just want to pare it down to a dozen followers who are real Contador fans and share the fruits of my labors with them for five weeks or so.

Two more days of golf, then a bunch of days of Wimbledon, and I'll be ready for three weeks of the Tour de France.

Are you J.K. Rowling fans aware of Pottermore? There's a website, and a twitter account with two tweets - one with the coordinates of a train station in Manchester. The website is about her next project, which isn't a book.

I got so excited yesterday when ESPN got a fax with the clenbuterol levels of the Mexican soccer players. All were way higher than Contador's, but four of them wouldn't have even been positive at 31 of 35 WADA labs. FIFA allowed the Federation to replace the five players for Gold Cup, saying they didn't know yet if the guys cheated or if it was really an accident. I'm still counting on the power and massive fan base of soccer to win this thing for Contador.

Uh oh. The co-owner of the restaurant in Colorado told the local press that she knew Lance was planning to come in that night, so she called him to tell him Tyler was there, just as she would if a patron's ex would show up. The cover story is thin, but the fact that Tyler was there, and Lance came there knowing for sure that Tyler was there, then stopped him and berated and threatened him, is a huge deal. That's not a chance encounter, it's pre-meditated and intentional - he could have just gone elsewhere.

Have a great weekend.

3:38 p.m. - Friday, Jun. 17, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Monday 4/18/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry