theswordsman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Master Chef & Food Pantry?

I finally made a push to watch tennis today. I've got my choice of eight courts throughout the day, but they're playing on twenty, and keep putting the hot women on the non-TV courts. So I watch for a while, but the wrong people win, or it's not competitive, but mostly I have no attention span without supplements. With Clijsters out, I'm not even rooting for anyone on the women's side. Azarenka does that annoying WOO Woo woo noise that continues after she's hit the ball and can't help unless she's trying to blow it across the net. Her temper gets nasty sometimes too. Wozniacki is an excellent player, but during regular tourneys, she's allowed to have her dad/coach come down on changeovers. He does that all the time, so she's not making her own observations and decisions. Then she gets into a major where she's up against top players and forced to figure it out herself, and it doesn't work. She also spends a humongous amount of time doing magazines and appearances and things she really shouldn't mess with in the summer. After she lost in the French, she bounced around from city to city, where someone dedicated to winning Wimbledon would have started practicing on grass immediately. She even went back home and played a hard court tournament. She's doomed.

Some guys are still looking for confirmation that there really were seven more Mexican soccer players with Clenbuterol in their May 21 doping tests. One soccer official denied there were any other doping positives, but that's the thing - the anonymous manager over the weekend told a journo that the seven had less than 500 picograms, which isn't doping. The first guy could say what he said and still not deny the seven, so reporters are all over it, with me spurring them on using Google Translation Spanish.

I forced myself to get out today, buy a few bucks worth of gas and my first lotto tickets in ages, and used up most of my last $20 of Food Stamps. The ice cream was good, the 75 cent a pack noit dogs not so much. With the 4th of July holiday, it might be two weeks until my next food stamps, so I might suck up my pride and call the food pantry tomorrow. I imagine I'll lose some sleep over that one.

My morning started with me eating Hungry Jack pancakes while watching Master Chef. Now I'm forcing myself to stay awake for another Master Chef and The Voice. It's not like the good old days when Big Brother UK used to get me through my day, but reality TV combined with sports is getting me from one sleep to another.

I caught the endings of A Beautiful Mind and Kick Ass a while ago. Both got me thinking. We'll see if anything comes of that. I'd kind of like to be smart again. Not fat, out of shape smart, but the kind where I'm really fit and my brain comes up with things, especially humor, lickety split. The kind of smart where you annoy people because you know what cards everyone has left in their hands, or know how the hero in a movie is going to get himself out of that impossible jam.

If you're smart, and the people I know here definitely are, you owe it to yourself to feel what really fit smart feels like. You can make really quick decisions, like how to hit the next tennis shot, and you can focus, and you can bounce back from things. I was reading a bit of something at a Waldenbooks once, and a woman who knew me saw me but didn't come up to me. I saw her later, and she said she'd seen me, but I was so deep in concentration that she was afraid to disturb me. That was just picking up a book off the shelf in a crowded store and blocking everything else out.

Besides, Zombieland Rule 1 in case of zombie apocalypse: Cardio.

I have an annoying number of people following me on twitter. I was going to start weeding people out when it was fifty, but even after blocking the spammers, I'm over a hundred. Some are pretty intense, like the bike forum guy whose latest contribution to the Armstrong conversation was a pic of Lance with his San Francisco girlfriend in a booth in 2003. That's key, because at the time he said he was trying to work things out with his wife, and was also courting Sheryl Crow. I've got some new journalists following me too. If they try to message me, I don't see it, but I'll let them stay until this Contador thing gets sorted.

Time to track down the Master Chef feed. I like the show. I'm rooting for the guy with the really long hair, and the woman who was described as being the kid in school who at the end of class reminded the teacher that he forgot to give them homework. The woman can flat out cook

6:10 p.m. - Tuesday, Jun. 21, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Monday 4/18/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry