theswordsman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

timing

Something else you don't know about me is that I sometimes say or write something in front of the exactly wrong person. One example that pops into mind is a birthday party at my brother's house. A couple of us were discussing Gladiator, which I'd seen a few months earlier in the theater. It popped into my mind, and out of my mouth, that the movie was so huge, with barbarian hordes, and all the people in the Coliseum, that I couldn't see how it would be good on DVD and a smaller screen. A few minutes later, my sister gave my nephew the gift he'd requested - a Gladiator DVD.

When it comes to posting things on the web, it's often the same, but with International reach. Both of these duplicate diaries have the code so I don't come up in Internet searches. There are maybe ten regulars who pop in occasionally to read, and a few newbies click the name, for an average of maybe 5 or 6 readers per post. But if I spun the globe, stopped it with my finger, and wrote that the people there smell like cats, or whatever, there's a 98% chance that location shows up in my stats counter the next day.

The other day, when I started re-following a few Contador fans on twitter, I noticed that the lady doctor hadn't been posting, and one of her last tweets had been to me. I mentioned that here, describing her as possibly hot (her profile pic is one fourth of her face), and definitely intelligent. When I last heard from her, she was headed home to Puerto Rico where, unfortunately, her father wasn't doing well. The day that I wrote the "possibly hot" thing, someone from Puerto Rico clicked on four of my entries. Was it her? Who knows?

I'm hitting you with this now because two days ago I mentioned the ten minute fiction writing contest that someone here had held years ago. Yesterday, someone from her old location in Montana showed up here, but it was after a new post, so instead of reading about her contest, she learned that I'd accepted twenty bucks off some guy. If it was her, it was the first time here in months, and she showed up four hours and sixteen minutes late.I guess that's what they call a missed connection.
Edit: Yes! Yes! Yes! The Mexican Football Federation just admitted that four more soccer players had Clenbuterol in their tests but small amounts mean it's not doping and so they weren't naming names and didn't stop them playing World Cup

9:56 a.m. - Friday, Jul. 01, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Monday 4/18/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry