theswordsman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Corona

Happy Birthday to me.

I drank a nasty tasting bottle of Corona last night. Cycling was to be on TV at 4:30 this morning, so I thought about staying up, but grabbed a couple of hours of sleep anyway. I was hoping my food stamps would hit a day early because the 3rd is on a Sunday, but that didn't happen, so there was no shopping trip to Walmart, and I couldn't use the $5 off 25 coupon at the dollar store. Que sera.

The Tour was on for six hours. The scenery was OK. With 8 kilometers to go, a rider and a fan collided. The other riders fell like dominoes, and Contador was stuck behind the guys and bikes on the road, as all of his competitors raced ahead as fast as they could. One day, and he's down a minute and 14 seconds on all of them. Tomorrow is a Team Time Trial, and instead of being one of the last to go, and knowing what times they need to beat, Contador's team is the very first.

There's a bright side. The French fans eat this stuff up. All the other big guns are tied for first, and Alberto is way back, alone, as a result of bad luck. After tomorrow it could be worse. Let him be well behind the others for a week, then launch an attack on one of the famous mountains, and the people who have been booing or writing evil things will get turned around. He went from villain to sympathetic figure.

The day had a couple of bright spots. That new company I found after the preacher gave me twenty bucks got my MAF to me this morning already, so my brain should start working in a few days. A nice thing about MAF is that while I don't know this company, and a lot of U.S. supplements aren't what they claim, all it takes for me to verify the formula is one pee. The rainforest smell is there, so I know the ingredients are right.

The main positive thing was that a website got their hands on a form and named the four protected Mexican soccer players. I don't actually care that they were named, but they wrote that the Clenbuterol levels were between 30 picograms and 200. Contador had 50. Three people who probably had more than him weren't even reported as positives, because the lab has the option at 200 picograms or under. They shouldn't, because WADA insists any amount is doping, but the UCLA lab didn't go for it. Another article mentioned something about the samples and a German lab. They have two - the high tech one is Cologne, where Contador's positive came from. Imagine them having a 200 picogram sample in their hands and not calling it doping, after trying to crucify Contador for a fourth of that. And he even had a test with zero the day before, so they knew for a fact he never had a larger amount. With the others, they could have been doped to the gills a week earlier and that much was left.

That's it. Two in the afternoon. I'm skipping the sun today because of the redneck bar patrons who walk past where I sit. The cycling tomorrow won't be as much fun as it could have been. Hopefully my Food Stamps will show up after midnight.

Off to Justin TV looking for eight or so hours of movies. Have a great weekend, especially those of you with a BBQ day Monday.

1:34 p.m. - Saturday, Jul. 02, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Monday 4/18/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry