theswordsman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pyrex

Happy Friday!

I figured out last night why my potatoes au gratin exploded. The dish was Pyrex. It was a gift, and I haven't read the bottom in a decade, so I never thought of it that way. A year or two ago I got a deal online on a set of smaller Pyrex dishes that I planned to use so I could cook small things in the toaster oven instead of the oven. Then I found out I couldn't use it there, because it was too close to the heating element. So using it directly on a stove burner was kind of a fail.

I mostly listened to the Tour today rather than watched it, but snapped a pic of one of the many nice chateaus. This one is built across the Loire river. Imagine having small boats popping under your house any time they want.

The first week of the Tour is in the books. Bradley Wiggins crashed out today. I don't care much for the guy, but I hate to see anyone injured in a crash. Chris Horner, another top guy, lost 12 minutes in the crash. He finished, but is at the hospital getting checked out. Levi Leipheimer lost three minutes today, putting him well behind Contador, who has been behind forty guys since getting stuck behind crashes on day one.

The pic below is of Contador's jersey after his second crash two days ago. Whenever you see cycling clothes ripped like that, you can assume the skin was messed up on the asphalt as well. It's already tough on the guys trying to sleep in a different hotel bed every night, often after six hot hours on a bike and then a two or three hour bus ride. It's worse when you've got fresh bruises and road rash up half your body.

Saturday the race heads into the mountains, so we Contador fans can start getting excited about attacks and hoping Alberto can drop some people.

I'm up for my own sleeping challenges, as the two night Volunteer Fireman's picnic starts today. Hundreds of people will brush against my living room window, and there will be a live band playing something that will translate into bass beats against my wall. The firemen play music on the PA while they clean up beer cups and things to get ready for the next day, so good luck team me.

My grocery strategy has kind of worked. I wiped out the cookie dough that was meant to last six days in the first 24 hours, but I haven't left the apartment to buy anything. It's amazing how satisfying good peanut butter with good preserves on good bread, with a cold glass of milk is during the summer.

Yesterday I mentioned how tough it is trying to find TV or movies to amuse me. A while ago, I went to Hulu, which had no shows for me, but offered me a free month of Hulu Plus if I join their Facebook whatever. I can't use the feature where people can stream to TV or smart phones or whatever, but they do have a lot of movies, and full seasons of TV shows. A month of TV marathons might be good.

Have a great weekend.

12:10 p.m. - Friday, Jul. 08, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Monday 4/18/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry