theswordsman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Car nage

What an awful, drama filled Stage 9 of the Tour de France. It was meant to be a tough, interesting day, well over 100 miles with 8 biggish climbs along the way. Six riders took off in a break, eventually working down to five exciting riders after climbs took their toll.

Firs problem was Contador riding near the edge of the road when some action between him and another rider caused him to shot sideways off the road and crash. He hurt the other side of his already sore knee,and struggled for 84 kilometers.

Then on a descent, which I won't show you, there was a big crash on a curve. A guy named Vinokourov had to have teammates climb down a ravine or whatever to help him back up to the road. Other guys were hurt too, with broken femurs or shoulders or collarbones.

When that started the 5 guys in the break had a 3 minute lead. The evil team I won't name wanted to race hard at the front of the peloton, like they've done on other crash days, and gain time on the guys slowed by the crash but who could still ride. A couple of classy leaders shut them down, so they kept a steady pace, and things looked really good for the five up front. One Frenchman was hoping to ride into the yellow jersey for the first time in years. A cool guy from Vacansoleil was riding for the King Of the Mountain points, to earn that jersey and build a lead. Then this happened.

The car was from French TV, and had no duties within the race. I hope the driver goes to jail. The fence that the second guy flew into was barbed wire. He got cut to bits, and in one photo it looks like a barb has yanked his shorts off him. Both guys managed to get back on their bikes and ride, getting medical attention while riding, in the form of aerial spray or a bandage from a doctor on the back of a motorcycle. Both guys finished at the back of the pack, as the three break mates showered themselves in glory at the finish line.

Tomorrow is a Rest Day for everyone. My hope is that Contador's knee will get better, and also that witnesses will tell the true story of what happened to him.

Today was tough to watch.

In good news, I'm down 12.5 pounds from three weeks ago. I wasn't keeping close track, but I think I was a few pounds higher than that some time in the recent past. My next challenge is an early morning grocery trip Monday. Will I get away without ice cream or cookie dough?

This morning was also nervous as there were guys spending a lot of time outside my window, which is maybe eight feet from the back of my head. The "For Rent" sign had vanished out of the window next store a few weeks ago, but as no one showed up on the first, I forgot about it. Maybe the sign was just too faded to keep there. But the guys were going back and forth on the sidewalk, and I could hear a two-wheel thingy hit the cracks as it passed by. Maybe they were moving something from the Fireman's Picnic, or maybe I'll have a new neighbor messing with my sleep.

12:28 p.m. - Sunday, Jul. 10, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Monday 4/18/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry