theswordsman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not giving up hope

I'm still here. There was no Tour de France Monday, so I spent most of the day in bed. I seemed to be in a position where I was breathing most of the time - at least I don't recall having to fight for breath. If I could use the computer in bed, I would stay there for the next few days. After spending my sleep time on my side, I rolled onto my back and heard and felt something small slip back into place. My upper back is still really tight, which probably means I have a spun disc.

Years ago after weeks of a job where I was climbing racks for inventory, tossing around cases of things and tons of 50 or 60 pound mail bags, I had problems that pointed to serious heart issues. Looking back at sixty or more hour work weeks, with half hour lunches of Mexican food and chili cheese fries, made it seem probable. After nights of having my left arm feel isolated, with it's own blood pressure and the worst pain of my life, I went to the Emergency Room and was admitted. I'll skip the rest of that stay, but afterward, I went to the new chiropractor in town. He told me I had a disc that had rotated 180 degrees from the twisting of picking things up and throwing them. He rotated it half the way back immediately, and everything got better. He finished the process a couple of days later. I'm hoping this is another disc thing, and not some serious heart or lung problem.

Tonight was the Hell's Kitchen / Master Chef doubleheader. I enjoy it, but it' a tough reminder right now. I've got $78 of food stamp money left, and I want some Dove Dark Chocolate, and some Welch's Concord Grape Juice, but I'd struggle to get even from the parking lot to a store entrance right now.

I'm looking forward to the Tour moving into the Alps. A couple of big performances by Alberto would do a lot to cheer me up.

9:58 p.m. - Monday, Jul. 18, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Monday 4/18/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry